Event Details

For the past two decades, the National Immigrant Justice Center (NIJC) Human Rights Awards has honored human rights champions and business, civic, and community leaders. The event draws 1,000+ attendees and provides critical funding for NIJC. In 2020, for the safety of our communities during the COVID-19 pandemic, NIJC presented the Human Rights Awards virtually for the first time to a global audience. NIJC is excited to bring this inspirational event online once again in 2021. Over the past 30 years, with support from thousands of pro bono attorneys, NIJC has provided legal services to countless people and has achieved reforms for a more humane immigration system through litigation and policy advocacy.

2021 Awardees:

Johannes Favi, community activist
Sara Ghadiri, Chapman and Cutler LLP


A panel discussion with NIJC clients, EllaGabriela, and Samer, moderated by Maria Hinojosa, founder and president of Futuro Media Group and author of Once I Was You: A Memoir of Love and Hate in a Torn America

Rising Star Awardees:

Xenia Chiu, Sidley Austin LLP 
Judy He, Haynes and Boone, LLP
Mara Klebaner, White & Case LLP
Luke Maher, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Lea Malewitz, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Emilie O’Toole, McDermott, Will & Emery, LLC
Akash Patel, Hogan Lovells US LLP
P.C. Wang, Sidley Austin LLP 
Lizzy Westrope, DLA Piper


2021 Human Rights Awards Committee:

José Ramón González, Co-Chair
Equitable Holdings, Inc.

Linda Myers, Co-Chair
Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Janet Bawcom
Ingredion Incorporated

Carrie Di Santo
CME Group

Chad Doobay
Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP

Jonathan Drage
Ankura Consulting Group, LLC

Jennifer Fardy
Law Office of Jennifer K. Fardy, LLC

Teresa Wilton Harmon
Sidley Austin LLP

Jane Mansell

Jon Milonas
CBRE Group, Inc.

Ernesto R. Palomo
Locke Lord LLP

John J. Reidy III

Heather Russell

Gloria Santona
Baker McKenzie LLP

Brett Scharback
Chicago Cubs

Charles Smith
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

Natalie Spears

Jeanne M. Sullivan

Vania Montero Wit
United Airlines

Suzanne Yoon
Kinzie Capital Partners

NIJC Leadership Board:

Marta Carreira-Slabe, Co-Chair

Ann Marie Walsh, Co-Chair
Locke Lord LLP

Caitlin Annatoyn
Arnold & Porter

Chirag Badlani
Hughes Socol Piers Resnick & Dym, Ltd.

David Berten
Global IP Law Group, LLC

Bartram Brown
Chicago-Kent College of Law

Gabrielle Buckley
Gannon Center for Women and Leadership, Loyola University Chicago

Edith Canter
Canter Strategies

Joan Coogan

Kathleen Dillon Narko
Northwestern University School of Law

Amy Doehring
Akerman LLP

Chad Doobay
Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP

Crystal Doyle

Jennifer Fardy
Law Office of Jennifer K. Fardy, LLC

Terry Y. Feiertag
Hughes Socol Piers Resnick & Dym, Ltd.

Susan Fortino-Brown
Law Office of Susan Fortino-Brown

Lisa Haidostian
McDermott Will & Emery LLP

Monica Halloran
Levy Restaurants

Nicole Henning
Jones Day

Thomas Hurka
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

Annette Isaacson
JPMorgan Chase

Michael Jarecki
Jarecki Law Group, LLC

Sherene A. Jodrey
The Boeing Company

Marc Kadish
Mayer Brown LLP

Richard “Brad” Kapnick
Katten & Temple LLP

Richard Klawiter

Danae Kovac
The HANA Center

Marketa Lindt
Sidley Austin LLP

James Morsch
Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP

Rev. Craig Mousin
DePaul University College of Law

Soledad O’Donnell

Alexis Perlmutter
Civis Analytics

Daphnee Pierre Camilien
University of Illiniois at Chicago

Ivan Poullaos
Winston & Strawn LLP

Abiman Rajadurai

Ernesto Ramos
BMO Harris Bank

Randall Rapp
Kozacky & Weitzel, P.C.

John J. Reidy III

Gabriel Rodriguez
Schiff Hardin LLP

Mony Ruiz-Velasco
Alianza Americas

Lee Ann Russo
Jones Day

Enrique Salgado

Gloria Santona
Baker & McKenzie LLP

Douglas Sargent
Locke Lord LLP

Mark Schwartz
Porter Wright Morris & Arthur LLP

David Serwer
Baker & McKenzie LLP

Duane Sigelko
Reed Smith LLP

John Skakun
Sidley Austin LLP

Michele Slachetka
Jenner & Block LLP

Maile H. Solis
Barack Ferrazzano Kirschbaum & Nagelberg LLP

Mark Sullivan
Grant Thornton LLP

Alen Takhsh
Takhsh Law, PC

Nick Tarasen
Amazon.com, Inc.

Wade Thomson
Jenner & Block LLP

Ann Marie Therese Wahls
Latham & Watkins LLP

Benjamin C. Weinberg

Ellen Wheeler
Foley & Lardner LLP

Vania Montero Wit
United Airlines

Gretchen Wolf
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

Miriam Zeidman
Anti-Defamation League

Other ways to support us:
Made with Auction & Event Solutions